Home  >   Adventure  >   Racing  >   Action  >   Casual  >  

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Sonic The Hedgehog 2
Sonic The Hedgehog 2



  • Requirements:


  • Latest Version:


  • Updated Time:

    October 20, 2021

  • File Size:


  • Developer:

    Sega of America

  • Requirements:


  • Latest Version:


  • Updated Time:

    October 19, 2021

  • File Size:


  • Developer:

    Sega of America




Sonic the Hedgehog 2 has a lot more to offer than the first game. There are more characters and levels in this game. There's more music, movements, and enemies to beat this time. It outperformed the original in every way and deservedly earned a spot at the top of the Genesis 16-bit collection. This is one of Sega's all-time great games.

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is a Sega Genesis platform game released in 1992 by Sega Technical Institute (STI).

Sonic tries to prevent Doctor Robotnik from taking the Chaos Emeralds in order to power his space station. You explore side-scrolling levels at great speeds while collecting rings, destroying foes, and facing bosses, just like in the first Sonic the Hedgehog (1991). Sonic 2 includes quicker gameplay, bigger levels, a multiplayer function, and unique stages with pre-rendered 3D visuals, as well as the introduction of Sonic's buddy Miles Tails Prower.

Running, jumping, crouching, and attacking by curling into a ball are all possibilities for your character. The spin dash, which enables you to curl while motionless for a speed boost, and Miles Tails Prower, a fox with two tails who acts as Sonic's sidekick, are both introduced in Sonic 2.

By default, the single-player plays both Sonic and Tails at the same time; however, a second player can join at any moment and control Tails independently. You can also select to play as either Sonic or Tails.

The game is divided into ten zones with a total of 23 acts. The acts are bigger than those in the original game, and you must traverse them at rapid speed while hopping between platforms, destroying robot foes, and avoiding traps.

Acts include dangers like water and spikes, as well as springs, slopes, bottomless pits, and vertical loops. You save your progress by passing checkpoints. Each zone's last act concludes with a boss encounter against Robotnik.

When you hit an enemy or obstacle, you will live if you still have at least one ring, however, your rings will scatter and flicker before disappearing. You begin with three lives, which you lose if you are hit without even a ring, fall into a hole, get crushed, drown, or exceed the 10-minute time limit; if you run out, you will get a game over. Additional layers of defense are provided by power-ups such as shields and invincibility, and lives are renewed by collecting 100 rings or a 1-up.

The levels become tougher as you progress, and you can't move on to the next one unless you've completed the previous one. After you've completed the game, you'll be brought back to the star post where you started, with your ring count reset. 

Sonic may turn into Super Sonic by collecting 50 rings after acquiring all of the Chaos Emeralds. When Super Sonic's rings are exhausted, he becomes practically indestructible, runs faster, and jumps higher, but he loses one ring every second and reverts to normal.

How to play

After chasing Sonic, Dr. Robotnik discovered the presence of all the Chaos Emeralds on West Side Island, including the rumored seventh one mentioned in the island's history. He has thus used the chance to capture the island's animals in order to replenish his badnik armies and seek the Chaos Emeralds in order to complete his ultimate weapon, the Death Egg, a space fortress.

Sonic races to put things right away, accompanied by Tails, in order to prevent Dr. Eggman's plan.

With ten levels and a final level, Sonic 2 is possibly the largest single 2D Sonic game to date. Most of them are, certainly, brief, and each is separated into two acts, with the exception of the latter ones. They're long enough to fully enjoy, and they're also a little easier. At the end of each second act, you'll face the boss of the zone.

Below is a list of all the names of the zone level in Sonic the Hedgehog 2.

1. Emerald Hill Zone

2. Chemical Plant Zone

3. Aquatic Ruin Zone

4. Casino Night Zone

5. Hill Top Zone

6. Mystic Cave Zone

7. Oil Ocean Zone

8. Metropolis Zone

9. Sky Chase Zone

10. Wing Fortress Zone

11. Death Egg Zone

We thought it would be interesting to relive the old Sonic the Hedgehog games on the Sega Genesis, along with some tried-and-true strategies for beating them. Here are some helpful hints that cover everything from level selection to Sonic the Hedgehog 2's much-loved debug mode and more.

● Rings are your best friend As with other Sonic games, being struck by an enemy causes you to lose all of your rings, leaving you with just a maximum of 20 to quickly collect back. Even if you are struck by machine-gun fire which causes you to lose just one ring while having none, you will lose a life, and if you lose all five lives, you will be returned to the point where you last saved.

Because you'll be prompted to save every time you complete a quest, losing all of your lives isn't a major setback but it could be a pain. So retain at least one ring in your possession so you don't lose that one life later.

● Sonic the Hedgehog 2's Debug Mode

To begin, enter the level and choose the code mentioned here. Return to the sound test option after that and play the following sound bits: 1, 9, 9, 2, 1, 1, 2, and 4. If you do it right, you'll hear a ringing sound.

Return to the level selection menu and choose a stage. While in this mode, you may use the B button to toggle Debug on and off, the A button to swap items in the environment, and the C button to put down that selected item. It's entertaining to play about with the game.

● Sonic the Hedgehog 2 Level Select Cheat

In Sonic the Hedgehog 2, there's a simple method to skip stages or choose a specific one to play. Navigate your way to the Sound Test, which can be found under Options on the main start screen, and then play the following music and sounds: 19 (Theme from Sonic 2), 65 (Shifting Sound), 09 (Casino Night Zone 1), and 17 (Theme from Sonic 2). (Invincibility Music).

You'll be able to return to the start screen after that's completed. You may pick your beginning level for Sonic the Hedgehog 2 by holding the A button and pressing Start. Amazing, isn't it?

We hope you found this article to be informative and useful. Comment below with your thoughts and suggestions so that we may all learn from them.


Editor's Choice

Reviews (0)

Get The Game

Check the Resource!

Casualsquad.com contains only the official package of the game, all links jump to the official platform. There is no malware and it is not shared with developers. Please feel free to open it.